Boston in my Heart

I’ve started and stopped several posts this week about the horrific attack at the Boston Marathon this past Monday. Boston was my home for three years while I attended law school and it’s a place that is as familiar to me as my own little town here in Maine, if not more so. My brother, sister-in-law, aunt, niece and nephew all live in or just outside of Boston and like everyone else with family there, I spent much of Monday on Twitter/Facebook/my phone making sure they were all safe.

I’ve avoided much of the television coverage of the tragedy, not just for my own mental stability, but because the kids are home this week and there is only so much I want them to know. They’re all aware there was an explosion, but only Meg knows that the explosion was caused by someone and it wasn’t an accident. At 12, she can barely comprehend why this happened, so keeping her 8 year old brother and 6 year old sisters partially in the dark is my way of keeping them safe and protected in this dangerous world.

If you follow me at all on Twitter or we’re friends on Facebook, you’ll have likely seen my tweets or status updates about the fundraising efforts of my nephew Nick, a college student at Emerson College in Boston, to help the victims and their families. Along with his friend Chris, Nick partnered with Ink to the People, and created a simple yet powerful t-shirt which simply reads “Boston Strong”. As of today, over 11,000 t-shirts have been sold, raising over $150,000 for One Fund Boston. If you wish to support this cause, you can find the Ink by going here: http://inktothepeople.com/marketplace/ink-detail/3731. The shirts are $20.

What I’ve tried to focus on this week is what Nick and Chris did, what the first responders did after the bombs exploded, what Bostonians did by opening their homes to shelter stranded runners-they showed kindness and compassion for others in the face of terrible tragedy. This is what I want the kids to know about, that there are more kind people than mean people in the world, that everyone can make a difference and that caring for others is so incredibly important. I’ll continue to shield them from the darkness in the world as best I can and I’ll do my best to remind them of the goodness in people.

The kids, Doug and I all watched the opening of the Boston Bruins game on Wednesday night and witnessed this amazing moment. As the tears flowed, Izzie asked me why I was crying and I told her that what we were witnessing was something to be proud of, that when she hears the National Anthem she should always remember this night. I hope she always will.

One thought on “Boston in my Heart

  1. I realized I was no longer subscribed to your blog today, I’d just been following along on Twitter! What a great fundraising effort, and yes, it’s situations like that that make you seek out the positive and the good in people (and, more often than not, you can find it!).

Leave a Reply

