To quote Julie Andrews

“When the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad. I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel so bad.” Sister Maria, The Sound of Music

This is a list of my favorite things, in no particular order. Things that make me happy. Because happy isn’t coming right now and I need it to come, so here goes:

Coffee
Music
The Internet
Clean sheets
An empty sink
A nice, neat living room
A good hair day (shallow I know, but really, it does make me happy)
Emails from friends, especially when they include hugs
Smiles from my kids
Clean kids
My babysitter being home from college for a month
Hugs from my kids
Chocolate (thank you honey for the two bags of Kisses!)
Watching Meg and Drew play in the snow
The kittens sleeping

My Friday question for you: what makes you happy?

7 thoughts on “To quote Julie Andrews

  1. new crayons and coloring booksstarbuckssnuggling w/ the hubsunsolicited affection from the kidspurring kittiessnowa fire in the fireplaceit's a wonderful life and the sound of music and the year w/out a santa clauscharlie brown's christmas musichot chocolate (ok, ANY chocolate)bath & bodyworks anything

  2. peppermint martinisdirty martiniscapuccino martinisOh wait, we weren’t supposed to be listing ONLY alcohol?Hmmmm..My baby sleeping on my chest.His goofy toothless grinThe things that comes out of my toddler’s mouth.Reading with my daughterSilenceA good bookWatching TV with my husbandDate nightsCookiesThe twinkle lights

  3. A good hair day makes me feel happy too. I also like seeing all my animals. I have 2 dogs and a cat and right now we are watching my sisters dog so my favorite thing about coming home from college that always makes me happy is seeing them.

  4. NEVER underestimate the power of a good hair day!At this point, me getting through ONE day without having to yell at Bear would make me DELIRIOUSLY happy. My standards have dropped so low…

Leave a Reply

