Little Things

Even though she’ll be 10 in two weeks (hold me someone, please), Meg still likes me to dry her hair for her. She sits on the floor, quietly reading, and I brush and dry her hair, sometimes longer than I need to just to keep her there, needing me for a bit longer.

Izzie likes to sing almost as much as she likes lambs. The other night we sat together singing Laurie Berkner’s Moon Moon Moon, just the two of us.

Yesterday we watched “The Princess and the Frog” and I had Drew all snuggled up next to me for the entire movie. He held my hand tight. Then he started sobbing when Raymond the firefly died and I had to cry right along with him.

Annie has been practicing writing her letters. She asks me to spell things all the time and she writes them down on whatever she’s drawing. Her favorite thing to write is her friend T’s name, a little boy from preschool whom she just adores.

These little things are so little, yet when they’re added together, they mean so much more.

What little things are making you happy today?

4 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. This was so sweet and a good reminder to notice the little things.

    This morning, Bear asked who was dropping him off (me) and who was picking him up (Hubby). When I told him I was dropping him off, he said, “Good. Because I like you.”

    I like him, too!

  2. 1. Introducing Ben to watercolors. He’s purple.
    2. Claire telling me the story of Martin Luther King Jr. after nursery school today. “And now ALL THE PEOPLE can ride the bus, wherever they want to sit!”

  3. i love this post, probably because to me it feels like even though your life is still very hectic, (and some days more so than others) you are enjoying things more and that makes me happy for you : ) you are such an incredible mom….it’s the moments like these that make it all worthwhile. it makes me happy when my 14 yr old comes and sits on my lap or when my 11 yr old comes and cuddles on the couch with me.

Leave a Reply

