Waiting for Godot (I mean Spring)

My calendar reads April 6th. Last year at this time the ground was thawed, the flowers ready to bloom, the mud almost dried up (mud season being our 5th season). We had about 10 inches of snow on Friday. There is still a lot of snow in our yard, especially around the edges where the sun doesn’t reach. The puddles on our road are frozen each morning. The flowers are just starting to come up from the ground, now that the snow has melted in front of the house. What a difference a year makes.

I’ve been longing for spring. Longing to put away the snow boots/pants/hats/mittens/scarves/winter coats and replace them with sweatshirts and puddle boots. Longing to see my false indigo in bloom (ok, technically that blooms in summer but the greens are just so gorgeous in the spring) like this:

When we were in the process of clearing our land to build our house back in 2006, we found lots and lots of large rocks. Instead of having them hauled away, we used them as edging for our yard. They make great backdrops for my perennial gardens. We’ve worked hard over the last couple of years to plant hardy perennials and make the gardens bloom from spring to fall. One of the gardens is still snow covered! Everything is going to be blooming at off times this year. I’m ready to get outside with my rakes and bags of black mulch (the only kind I like, other than dark brown) and make everything beautiful again.

I am longing to get the kids outside and the windows open. We had one blissful Friday afternoon in March where the temperatures reached 60 and I opened some windows, grabbed a book and sat on my farmer’s porch reading in the sunshine. My father-in-law made me two gorgeous Adirondack chairs that we have on the porch and I love sitting in them while the sun warms my toes and the kids run around in the yard. I’m hoping to paint one of them this spring to match my front door (my father-in-law stained the other one and it was such a frustrating process that he gave me the other one to do as I pleased). I hope it looks as lovely as my door does:

I’m waiting for spring with such anticipation this year. I don’t know if it’s because winter lingered and continues to taunt us with cold weather and random Nor’easters, or because I’ve had enough of being cooped up in the house with my crazy kiddos. I want to dig out my sandals, get a pedicure and warm my toes in the sunshine. What are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Waiting for Godot (I mean Spring)

  1. I am waiting for open-toed shoes (and a badly needed pedicure), bare legs in skirts, the sun shining on my face, the sound of birds chirping and my kids playing outside — where their outside voices belong!

  2. i love that you kept the rocks and used them in your landscape! LOVE that! can’t wait to see pics of your blooming flowers. i’m waiting for something good to happen so i will be motivated to even bother doing anything to the yard this year : )

Leave a Reply

