Oh, Hello September

I suppose my blog title could be written in different ways, like “Oh! Hello September?” or “Oh Hello September”. I’m more of the oh September I am so happy to see you but also, where the heck did August go? I think that’s fitting since the middle of August meant a two week vacation for Doug (first time EVAH!), four sick children and a sick husband, then Hurricane Irene landing on our doorstep as Tropical Storm Irene (I live inland, so she lost some steam coming over land) and leaving us without power for the 46 hours right before school started for Megan and Drew. Phew. So, I am quite happy to see September after all.

A new school year is here! Megan is in 5th grade, a middle-schooler. She gets up at 5:45 in order to eat, dress, pack her bag and be out the door by 6:50 to catch her bus. She comes home at 2:25 and we can have an (almost) uninterrupted conversation about her day. Today is her 3rd day of school and if the past two days are any indication, middle school is going to be the perfect fit.

Drew started 1st grade and his teacher is a hockey fan! His class is filled with friends from his kindergarten class and a couple from his last year of preschool so he’s happy and comfortable. He’s hoping to bring home a library book today and maybe he’ll bring one he can read to us. He’s much more of a social butterfly than Meg is and he’s happy to be back among his peers.

Annie and Izzie don’t start school until next week, but they did have an ice cream social at their preschool last night and were so happy to run around with their friends. Next Wednesday will be my last first day of preschool and if I’m being honest, I’m part overjoyed (preschool for two is EXPENSIVE) and part saddened. We’ve been at this same preschool since Drew was 2 1/2 and it will be hard to leave in in June. This year I’ll be in the classroom with the girls every Friday. I am hoping that this eliminates, or at least lessens, Izzie’s cling-on syndrome at dropoffs on Monday and Wednesday. Their friend T’s mom will be in the classroom on Wednesdays and I think knowing that she’ll be there one day and I’ll be there the other will help. They love their head teacher S and are so excited to bring the lunch boxes that match their backpacks that maybe it will all be easier this year. Fingers crossed!


Hanging with Drew before he got on the bus.

I’m looking forward to the long weekend. We’re headed to the beach with friends tomorrow that we haven’t seen all summer and then I intend to read a book and do the usual seventy zillion loads of laundry that need to be done every week. I’m still trying to play catchup from Irene; while we have a generator we can’t a)run it all day less we lose our minds from the sound and b)it plugs into the dryer outlet so doing much laundry is out. We were fortunate to just lose power for 46 hours; there are still people here in Maine without power.

What are YOU doing this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Oh, Hello September

  1. We headed north to our cabin for the weekend and on Sunday I sat down and got sucked into Book 2 of The Hunger Games and read the entire thing in one day. I can’t remember the last time I did that. Hope you had a wonderful long weekend!

Leave a Reply

