Today Was a Good Day

I’ve been treading water since the calendar turned over to September. Getting the kids all back to school and adjusting to bus schedules/homework/working/helping out in the twins’ preschool has been a bigger challenge than I imagined. Laundry has been pushed to the side and grocery shopping has been sporadic. The thrill I anticipated at having the twins in school for 12 hours versus 6 each week hasn’t been realized yet, as I work on one of the days at my paralegal job and I’m in their preschool on the other day, leaving just Monday as “my time”. “My time” involves laundry or grocery shopping or bill paying. Not that thrilling after all.

Since Meg started school, September has been my New Year’s Day. September has always been a breath of fresh air for me. I like buying school supplies for the kids and even some items for myself. This year we purchased a large wipe-off calendar to more effectively manage our ever-growing schedule. I had it almost filled the minute we put it up on the wall. But this year September has been a struggle, as our weekends have involved hockey and birthday parties galore, instead of being a bit of a respite before hockey season officially kicks off in October. Doug is working overnights right now so he’s leaving just after dinner when I need his help the most. We’re a team at bedtime so having to handle it all myself has made things interesting to say the least.

Today was a good day. I spent the morning at the hockey rink while Doug ran a skill session for girls then he dropped me at a friend’s house for a few hours. It was nice to visit with some friends, relax and do a little shopping (ever been to a Thirty One party? I loved the items and can’t wait to get what I purchased!). I did some laundry when I got home and watched the Patriots while making a delicious Rachael Ray meatball and pizza stoup (I can’t find the recipe online to post it here). Today was the first day that I felt like I was slowing down a bit, that I wasn’t so stressed about rushing here and there and trying to get so many things done. Right now my bed is covered with unfolded laundry that will need a home before I go to sleep tonight but it doesn’t bother me. I’ve got Auction Hunters on the TV and my feet up on my couch. Today was definitely a good day.

One thought on “Today Was a Good Day

Leave a Reply

