I wish I could say

I wish I could say that my house is spotless even the slightest bit clean

I wish I could say that the laundry is washed, dried, folded AND put away

I wish I could say that every meal my kids get fed has fruits and or veggies

I wish I could say that I don’t yell to discipline

I wish I could say that I always listen when they talk to me

I wish I could say that I’m organized

I wish I could say that most nights, I’m not relieved when they’re all tucked in bed

I wish I could say that I am not easily frustrated when the kids are fighting or won’t pick up their toys

I wish I could say I smile more than I frown

I wish I could say that sometimes I want the little ones to grow up faster than maybe they should

I wish I could say that I’m a better parent than I feel like I am most of the time

I wish I could say that I’m a better wife than I feel like I am most of the time

I wish I could say I have it all together, all the time (ok, even some of the time)

I can’t say these things though. I can say, however, that despite my failings, that I love my family with all my heart and that I hope they know it. Maybe, just maybe, that’s what matters more than all the things I wish I could say.

Leave a Reply

