Stream of Consciousness

I’m terrible at giving my blog posts titles without repeating myself. I know the title is what is supposed to draw people in, like the title of a book, but I guess I don’t really write for others but for myself. You know, when I have time. Which lately, isn’t very often. So I throw these little posts together to get my thoughts out and maybe have someone stop by and say hello. And if you don’t stop by, I don’t get mad, because writing these little posts mean I had more than 30 seconds to sit still and I was able to do a little something for me.

The time between Thanksgiving and the end of January is notoriously busy for our family. We host Thanksgiving at hour home, so there’s lots of cleaning and cooking and more cleaning involved, but very little picture taking (I don’t think I even got my camera out on Thanksgiving). Then December rolls in and I’m creating holiday cards and calendars for our families and then WHAM the twins are on school vacation for 4 days before their siblings and Pandora is running full-tilt in Christmas mode and WHAM it’s Christmas Eve day and I’m wrapping ALL the presents because quite frankly, I’m too tired to wrap them at night in the days leading up to Christmas. But then Christmas Eve rolls around and this happens and I’m sitting and relaxing with family and I breathe.

Christmas brought more family and less toys but still ridiculously happy kids.





Christmas wraps up and we run headlong into Drew’s birthday. He turned 7 and I couldn’t really wrap my head around it. How is it possible he turned 7? Wasn’t he just born? It certainly seems like it to me. We celebrated with family on his actual birthday with a little Star Wars theme this year (isn’t every 7 year old into Star Wars and Legos and Pokemon or is it just mine?).


We also celebrated with his hockey and non-hockey friends at the local ice rink with skating, a gigantic whoopie pie cake made by one of our friends, along with homemade gelato.

I’ve been interrupted too many times to count while I’ve been trying to write this and I’ve lost my train of thought. 2012 has already brought us Annie and Izzie’s 5th birthday and Megan’s 11th is coming up in 10 days. I’m still trying to clean up from Annie and Izzie’s party and haven’t even uploaded pictures to the computer so I can’t blog about it until I get that task done. The washing machine is beeping at me, insistent that I remove the wet sheets and get them drying and it’s just about lunch time even though I started writing this 90 minutes ago. Izzie’s now singing Frosty the Snowman for me while she looks at the book and Annie’s asking for me to tell her what letters she’s reading spell. I’ll come back again, someday.

3 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness

  1. Pingback: Stream of Consciousness | Kristin's Four Kids

  2. Pingback: Birthday Cake Wrap-Up | Kristin's Four Kids

  3. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to grasp a lot about this, such as you wrote the book in it or
    something. I feel that you simply can do with some percent to power the message house a little bit, however
    instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read.
    I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

