Just Write

Yesterday I went to comfort a grieving friend whose mother passed away suddenly over the weekend. This friend was the first friend I made when I moved to our town in the woods. Her son and my oldest daughter were in the same kindergarten class and they were both quiet and shy and as luck would have it, they bonded. The kids conspired to have a playdate over February vacation that year, so I invited them to our house as the twins were only a few weeks old and going anywhere was out of the question for me. The bigger kids played outside and she and I talked about school and our kids and she held my babies. We found out we had a common interest in scrapbooking and a beautiful friendship was formed.

As the years have gone on, she and I have enjoyed daily emails and scrapbooking days and a love of the Twilight books and movies. Our kids have had classes together since kindergarten but only see each other in the halls this year. It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost 5 years since she and I met, as it seems like she’s been my friend forever.

When I woke up Saturday morning to the email that her mom has passed away I burst into tears. Her mom was a frequent guest at our scrapbooking days and she’d been in and out of my house over the years. My kids knew her and she always talked Red Sox with Doug. I was sad for my friend’s horrible loss and sad for my kids and her son. While I know death in inevitable, a sudden loss is much harder on everyone involved.

Yesterday when she emailed me and asked if I had time to stop by this week, as she needed a friend, I didn’t even respond; I just showed up on her doorstep and gave her a hug and sat with her and her son and husband and listened for awhile. It felt good to sit with her and and let her know how much she means to me.  There wasn’t anything more I could give her but my friendship and love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

