Sickness. And Sports.

I had so much fun participating in Momalom‘s Five for Five and thought for certain I’d get back on the blogging horse. I enjoyed coming to this space every day, thinking and writing. But then real life threw a kid with two bouts of strep throat back-to-back in my face, together with 3 other kids with some flu bug that just won’t quit, and my blogging time went back on the back burner.

When I haven’t been dealing with sick kids, I’ve been at baseball fields and I have to tell you, I love it. All four kids are playing this season~Meg’s 2nd year of majors softball, Drew’s first year of player pitch, and Annie and Izzie’s first year of t-ball. Meg’s settled into her role as catcher, a job she shares with 2 other girls on her team. She’s eleventy-billion feet tall and has a great arm.

Drew has pitched in two games and caught in one so far this year. His team is made up of 7-9 year olds and he’s such a good little player. Maybe he’ll take after his big sister and like being behind the plate.

Annie and Izzie had their first t-ball game Friday night and it was a ton of fun. Annie is a switch hitter (for those of you who don’t know baseball, it means she can hit either right or left handed; it’s rather uncommon).

Izzie likes to prance about in the field, but she’s all business up at the plate.

Coordinating the schedules for four kids playing sports is challenging (to put it nicely). This coming Wednesday all four of them play, at the same time. At different fields. As Doug is Drew’s coach, he will stay with him; I will have to drop Meg at her field and then stay with the twins for their game. We should be able to catch the end of Meg’s game since t-ball is only an hour and softball takes at least two hours to complete on a weeknight. I finally put all four schedules together on a calendar for my mom the other day, then had a good cry. It’s not fair to have to pick and choose who I get to see play when they have conflicts. Since Annie and Izzie are only 5, staying at their field is the right choice. With everyone being under the weather I’ve missed two of Meg’s games and one of Drew’s in the past week. While the kids are pretty good about the overlapping schedule issue, I do hate hearing one of them needle me with “you haven’t seen me play lately.”

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the rain that just started this morning carries on through the day so that Annie and Izzie’s game gets postponed, as Annie is sick and Izzie has a terrible cough (the end result of this bug). I’d rather they both be able to play instead of just one, and I already wasn’t going to be able to attend as Meg has her final chorus concert of the year tonight and that’s where I’ll be. It’s the price I pay for having four involved, active kids. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

If you have multiple kids in sports or other activities, how do you balance it all?

3 thoughts on “Sickness. And Sports.

  1. We almost ran into this issue with the boys this spring. My step son is in his third year of Major league baseball, and the twins were old enough (their birthday is the cut off) for t-ball. We decided to not sign the boys up this year, so we can enjoy a kind of peaceful little league season knowing that next year the boys will be playing t-ball. Up here the t-ball games are on tuesday & thursday and that is when 90% of my step son’s Little League games are. Next year will be interesting….good luck to all 4 of your kids this season!

  2. I feel for you Kristin! It’s SO hard. Being the leader of the Girl Scout troop, and assistant to the cub scout den, it really makes things challenging at times! Just know that the kids love you and know you are doing the best you can! 🙂

  3. I’m trying to figure out how we’re doing to juggle the sport schedules this summer, too, and only 3/4 will be participating! Two in baseball, one in gymnastics, and all three older kids in swim lessons. Craziness! Hope you can get it figured out, and if you do, share tips!

Leave a Reply

