Yeah, I Pay My Kid in iPod Songs

I’m pretty sure the word “chores” is one of the worst words in the English language. I know it was one of my least favorite words as a teenager. I had to dust and fold towels and I think I got paid for it, but I honestly can’t remember. I hated dusting. I didn’t mind the towel folding so much though.

Now that I’m a mom of four kids, I’ve started assigning Unpaid chores to the kids. They’re unpaid because when we tried the paid option with Meg a few years ago, she refused to do anything that she didn’t get paid for. Yeah, lesson learned there. The kids are expected to clean their rooms when asked. Sometimes that results in tantrums (ok, it often results in tantrums) but let me tell you, when their rooms are clean they are happy, happy kids. I refuse to clean their rooms for them. I will sit and watch them, assisting with what to clean up next, but I will not clean 3 kids’ rooms on top of all the other stuff I’m expected to do for them. It’s called responsibility.

Anyway, now that Meg is 11 1/2, she wants stuff. Books. Clothes. Earrings. Songs for her iPod. She has a couple of regular chores, which she does sporadically at best (clean the cat boxes, wipe down the table after dinner and sweep under the table). Recently she created a list of songs that she wants on her iPod (which is an old 2nd generation iPod Touch I bought used from one of Doug’s co-workers, but she thinks it’s gold) and asked me to buy her some. Being the clever mom that I am, I came up with a mutually beneficial solution~she does chores outside her regular chores, with a smile (or at least not crankily) and I will purchase her songs. Lo and behold, my dishwasher is getting unloaded and refilled more often, loads of towels get washed/dried/folded/AND put away, and songs are magically appearing on her iPod.

I’m not really that clever. I want help around the house, she wants tunes, and voila, we have a solution. I’m happier, she’s happier. The other kids don’t have iPods yet, so I’ll have to come up with some other chore ideas for them. Maybe cleaning in exchange for tv time?

What about you? Do you have your kids do chores? Do you pay them in cash or other ways, or not at all?

One thought on “Yeah, I Pay My Kid in iPod Songs

  1. Sounds like the perfect solution! We also erroneously tried paying the kids for normal chores and that backfired. They are responsible for cleaning their own rooms, but not necessarily on a regular basis. I don’t clean it for them, but a few days with a bit of a mess is fine. Trying to get them to load the dishwasher on their own since they’re already clearing their dishes that direction, anyway.

Leave a Reply

