Birthday Cake Wrap-Up

The kids’ birthdays have come and gone and I realized I haven’t shared this year’s birthday cake creations. Having four kids with birthdays immediately following Christmas right through January means I spend a lot of time covered in flour, trying to make something that they’ll love.

Drew’s birthday always sneaks up on us, since it’s 3 days after Christmas. He is a very laid back kid when it comes to his birthday and therefore had absolutely no idea what he wanted for a cake. I spent too much time trolling the internet looking for a different Star Wars cake (last year’s cake ). I again put Doug to work with his steady hand and we came up with this cake:

Picture 2096

Annie and Izzie’s birthday came next and this year we went with a winter theme. Annie chose a snowman and Izzie a snowflake (although the snowflake looks a bit too much like a spiderweb for my liking):

Picture 2248

Picture 2249

Meg’s cake theme this year represents what she loves the most: music. I again spent too much time trolling Pinterest and Google for ideas, but finally settled on making my own frosting (thank you Ree Drummond; it was awesome!) and my own music notes with melting chocolates.

Picture 2613

(Not sure why the image has such poor quality, but you get the idea)

I love making the cakes for my kids, but as they get older inspiration is getting hard to come by. Meg has already asked me to make a clarinet cake for her, which I politely declined. Good thing I have another 7 months before I need to make another one!

Leave a Reply

